1965 Addis Ababa Conference

What makes this historic conference so unique is these sister churches had their last common council at Ephesus in 431 A.D. After 15 centuries of mutual isolation, they met in Addis Ababa in 1965. This page is dedicated to all those who took the initiative to organize that historical meeting and worked so hard to achive it's objective!


His Beatitude Abune Theophilos Chairman of the Programme committee

His Excellnecy Ato Abebe Retta, Secretary General of the Conference

His Excellnecy Balamberas Maheteme Selassie, Chairman of the Reception Committee

H.I.M Haile Selassie Opening the Conference

The heads of the Oriental Churches at the conference

The heads of the Oriental Churches at the conference

His Holiness Abune Basilios

His Holiness Catholicos Khoren I

His Holiness Anba Kyrillos

His Holiness Moran Mar Basilios Augen

His Holiness Moran Mar Ignatius Yacub III

His Holiness Vasken I

His grace Abune Theophilos

The 1965 conference report in English (click to read)

The 1965 conference summary in Amharic (click to read)

©2004-Ethiopian Orthodox Tewahedo Church - About usPrivacy PolicyContact us
website design by www.ethioview.com